Introducing gluten free malt vinegar

Reginald SmithMalt Vinegar, Uncategorized11 Comments

Gluten free malt vinegar bottle

Gluten Free Malt Vinegar – a new product of Supreme Vinegar

About me and my passion for vinegar

I’m Reggie Smith, owner of Supreme Vinegar LLC, a specialty fruit and wine vinegar manufacturing company in Bensalem, PA just outside of Philadelphia. In the past, I have mainly concentrated on fruit vinegars and mothers of vinegar to help home vinegar hobbyists make better vinegar. However, I have always been interested in vinegar as a whole–its history, chemistry, biology, etc. As part of the research for my new forthcoming book on the history of vinegar, The Eternal Condiment, I learned a lot about the history of malt vinegar, so much I wrote a separate recent article on the history of malt vinegar. Learning about the history of vinegar helped me understand how to make my own, as well as common issues vinegar hobbyists encounter.

Gluten in your vinegar? Say what?


When I started out in vinegar, thinking about glutens was the furthest thing from my mind. Vinegar food safety is all about acidity and no wheat products, nuts, milk, etc. ever touch the process. So when I got my first questions about whether my red wine vinegar was “gluten free” I was puzzled but doing my research I was able to confirm it was. My first realization of the intersection of glutens and vinegar came from a customer complaint about a Chinese vinegar. I distribute several premium vinegars from China, including the famous yet hard-to-find Shanxi vinegars. For those who don’t know the difference between vinegar in China vs. Japan, Japanese vinegar is often rice based while that in China is usually made from mashing various cereals–wheat, sorghum (gluten free), oats as well as other ingredients like herbs or soybeans.

The complaint was a customer had a stomach ache from the vinegar which I was happy to accommodate a return/refund. At first I thought it just disagreed with her. Then reading an article on food analysis, I realized it was quite possible glutens in the vinegar may have upset her. I knew gluten reactions could be bad from a co-worker whose daughter had a near fatal allergic reaction to glutens.

The rise of gluten free vinegar


From there I went into gluten research understanding the basics as well as detection tests such as the R5 Competitive ELISA, etc. Looking into my other vinegars, I realized malt vinegar was the most likely suspect. Knowing its formulation I began wondering how the glutens could be lessened or eliminated and that is where my gluten free homebrewing adventure began. After some research and product testing, I decided on a joint malted buckwheat/malted millet ale for the base to ferment into vinegar. Luckily, my equipment can also be used for mashing. I created a prototype that I am currently testing with customers and on Amazon.com. Gluten levels are at most less than 10 ppm according to lab testing (the lowest level measurable) so it will hopefully provide an alternative to those who love malt vinegar for fish & chips or other uses, but can’t stomach the gluten. If anyone is interested, I have limited samples, I just need feedback after trying them. I will likely start planning a full scale production ramp later this year.
www.supremevinegar.com / sales@supremevinegar.com

11 Comments on “Introducing gluten free malt vinegar”

  1. I recently made beer vinegar using a local craft-brewed IPA. The vinegar came along in the usual way, but there was very little mother in the jar when we decanted it. We thought the vinegar itself was fairly mild, though definitely vinegar and clearly beer-based – one friend actually identified the beer I used when he tasted the vinegar – but I’m now wondering if I bottled it too soon. I left it almost seven weeks, and it smelled like vinegar, but ….

    1. The timing can depend. Seven weeks is usually enough for a first batch but if the mother formed late and was small it may have fermented slowly. You could leave it alone for another few weeks to see if a mother re-forms. If so, let it go for 3-4 weeks to finish fermentation.

  2. Hi
    Just starting out researching about making vinegars , always have talked about it, my wife leaves quite a bit of red wine she doesn’t like laying around in the fridge , I really like your website. I read about your new malt vinegar. Very interested as finding a good malt vinegar for fish and chips down here isn’t easy. Do you have any more samples of the mall vinegar you are developing? I would love to try some. Be glad to give you feedback.
    Thank you
    Oscar

    1. Hi the gluten free malt vinegar should be back in stock on Amazon this week. The page link is here. I also have a bourbon oak aged malt vinegar that is out of stock but will soon have more available at this link. Let me know what you think.

  3. I have spent about two years looking for good information on how to make vinegar, and spent several days reading through your website which has finally answered so many of my questions thank you!

    I do have two questions now how do I subscribe to your blog?
    And I don’t suppose you know how to make gluten free weetabix then? I used to love weetabix, sigh.

    1. Hi, I haven’t set up a subscription feature yet though I will look into it. I don’t know much about weetabix unfortunately.

  4. Do you have an update on when you’ll have a new supply ready? I’m very interested but Amazon is out of stock.

    1. I hopefully will have some by early summer since I need to get new materials for a larger batch. I will inform you when it is ready.

  5. Hello from France,
    i’m an Irish man living in France but working for the German company Heinrich Frings.
    I’m their agent for UK, Eire, Scandinavia and Israel.

    I spotted your website some years ago and was impressed with the detailed knowledge. Now I see your book The Eternal Condiment has arrived, I’ve just ordered it.. You have certainly done some research. There are still some gaps in the industry knowledge for vinegar and a great big hole in terms of information. At the UK Vinegar Brewers Federation we are trying to create a vault of vinegar knowledge that we can pass on to the generations to come. When I started in 1993 I wrote to everyone I could find and asked for any papers or books they could share. The product of that letter subject to legal permissions we intend to digitise and place on our website.
    Right now Gluten free malt vinegar is pinging my interest. Did you ever settle on a figure for gluten present in traditionally produced malt vinegar? My wife is gluten intolerant and I have previously thought it so low as not to present a problem.

    At Frings we don’t have this info, because quite frankly malt vinegar is rarely made on our Acetators. The UK is the only large scale producer.

    regards

    Joe O’Rourke

  6. Eagerly waiting to try your Gluten Free Vinegar. Is it possible to be notified when it gets back into stock? Can’t wait to have Fish n Chips again with it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *